The winners of the weekend

03 June 2019

France won a very competitive St. Gallen Nations Cup, which ended with a victorious jump-off by Guillaume Foutrier on Valdocco des Caps (Number One by Iso), backed up by double clear rounds from Pénélope Leprévost on Vancouver de Lanlore (Toulon) and Nicolas Delmotte on Urvoso du Roch (Nervoso).

Italy finished second after a clear round, but half a second slower than France, while Switzerland set the fastest time but with a fault from its leader, Steve Guerdat on Bianca (Balou du Rouet).

 In Vancouver, Canada won their Nations Cup, counting towards the Longines Series, ahead of Ireland and the USA.

In Hamburg, the German Nusse Lüneburg won the legendary Grand Prix, third stage of the Riders Tour, with Cordillo (Corrido), ahead of Shane Breen of Ireland on Can Ya Macan (Canturo). The two men had the only two clear rounds of the event and both completed a jump-off without penalty, while Olympic event rider Sandra Auffarth finished on the third step of the podium with La Vista (Lordanos). 

Frenchman Romain Dreyfus won the 4* Grand Prix of St Tropez with Niara d'Elsemdam Z (Nabab de Rêve), ahead of his compatriot Edward Levy on Rebeca LS (Rebozo LS). Jaime Guera was third in the event with The Gambler (Cajus). The three double clear rounds of the day therefore share the podium, ahead of Marc Dilasser, prominent once again with Arioto (Diamant de Sémilly), while François Mathy jr. came fifth with Uno de la Roque (Numero Uno).

In Lisbon, after winning the CSIO*** Nations Cup, Portugal is back in the Grand Prix thanks to Rodrigo Almeida on GC Chopin's Bushi (Contendro II), ahead of Italian Robert Prandi on Maximo Del Castegno (Acodetto), while Pierre Marie Friant of France confirmed his current excellent form by taking third place in the Grand Prix with Urdy of Astrée (Bouffon du Murier).

In Munich Riem, Kiwi wizard Bruce Goodin wins the Grand Prix*** with Danny V (Quasimodo Z) ahead of the Czech Ales Opatrny on Forewer and the German Holger Wenz on Conner (Cornado).

In Eindhoven, the Grand Prix*** was won by Willem Greve on Turbo Z (Thunder vd Zuuthoeve), ahead of Pieter Clemens on Cuidam (Verdi) and Darragh Kenny on Classic Dream (Colestus).

 At the two-star Opglabeek event, the Grand Prix was won by the German Sophie Hinners on Vittorio (Valentino DH), ahead of Dayro Arroyave on Qarmina by Greenbay Z (Qody by St Aubert) and Lorenzo De Luca on Belo Horizonte (Baloubet du Rouet).